The city of Chinag Rai, founded in 1262 by king Mengrai, was the capital of the Mengrai dynasty. Conquered by Burma, which fell under its rule for several hundred years, the city has a number of attractions which includes a night market called the Night Bazaar, selling local products and souvenirs, the Rock Climbing Park featuring top rope routes and 160 meter zip lines and the Saturday Night Walking Street where many locals display their crafts as well as dance performing skills.
Built in 1432, the Wat Klang Wiang is a temple located in Chinag Rai City, Thailand and features contemporary neo-Lanna’s art. With a history that stretches back to over 500 years, the temple’s name simply means ‘centre of the city’. Formerly known as Wat Chantalok, the temple has a city pillar which was constructed on the location where a Chan tree (Red Sandal Wood) used to be. It is believed that the Chan tree had fallen on the temple’s main prayer hall during a storm.
Around the base of the chedi stand the statuettes of fully attired elephants and the renovated main prayer hall presents the neo-Lanna architectural style. A mondop with a statue of the mythical guardian angel called Thao Chatu Lokaban, has been built to protect the city pillar of the temple. Besides the city pillar, the compound consists of an ubosot, chedi and wiharn in addition to school buildings.
The visitors will encounter the wiharn on entering the temple from the east. Its front is intricately embellished with red columns and glided grillwork. Stairs are lined with serpents just like in other northern temples, but here their tails snake up encircling the portico’s centre columns.
A stunning garden with several dioramas praising the virtues of farm life, adorns the northern side of the wiharn. An elaborate chedi is located behind the wihar. The three-tiered base of the chedi contains niches.